Welcoming remarks

It is with great excitement that we are launching, on this 7 April 2016, the National Observatory on Language Rights, a first in the history of Quebec.

While few remain doubtful as to the complex, dynamic and nuanced nature of the legal linguistic reality – the Tower of Babel is the picture coming to mind here – the mission of the Observatory is to democratize scientific knowledge and other data pertaining to the field.

Mainly dedicated to political and legal issues concerning official language minorities in Canada, the Observatory is particularly interested in the situation of the Francophone minorities outside Quebec, as well as the link between the evolution of French in Quebec and the protection of traditional rights of the province’s Anglophone minority.

In parallel, a particular attention shall be given to the Aboriginal situation, from coast to coast. Lastly, there will be an attention given to issues specific to foreign jurisdictions exhibiting similar concerns in terms of language protection. In this regards, academics from Catalonia, Belgium, Switzerland, Morocco and Russia have already confirmed their participation as foreign correspondents, which in turn will undoubtedly boast the international outreach of the Observatory.

Our technological platform, homed at the Université de Montréal's "Centre de recherche en droit public" (a.k.a. "CRDP"), has make it easy to dissemination all the information and data gathered by student researchers, who have compiled all the material legislation, case law and doctrinal works. The intended media monitoring and blog activities will constitute the cornerstone to a dialogue among the Observatory, the broader academic world and indeed civil society.

Finally, we wish to thank two jurists whose reputations are in a ligue of their own. First, the Honourable Michel Bastarache, guest of honor at the launch of the Observatory and most certainly the greatest ambassador of language rights in Canada. Sir, your support is invaluable to us. Second, the Dean of the Faculty of Law of the Université de Montréal, Jean-François Gaudreault-DesBiens, for his assistance in this project going way beyond the call of duty. May the Observatory exceed all our expectations, today and tomorrow.

 

Frédéric Bérard and Stéphane Beaulac

Co-Directors
National Observatory on Language Rights

This content has been updated on 19 April 2016 at 14 h 49 min.

Comments

Comment

Mot de bienvenue

C’est avec un enthousiasme certain que nous inaugurons, ce 7 avril 2016, l’Observatoire national en matière de droits linguistiques, une première dans l’histoire du Québec.

Alors que d’aucuns ne doutent du caractère complexe, dynamique et empreint de nuances que présente la chose juridico-linguistique, l’image de la tour de Babel étant ici révélatrice, l’Observatoire a pour mission de démocratiser les connaissances scientifiques et autres informations afférentes au domaine en question.

D’abord dédié aux enjeux politico-juridiques concernant les minorités de langues officielles au Canada, l’Observatoire s’intéresse tout particulièrement au sort réservé aux minorités francophones hors Québec, ainsi qu’à l’interface entre l’évolution du fait français au Québec et la protection des droits traditionnels conférés à la minorité anglophone de la Belle province.

De manière parallèle, une attention marquée est accordée à la situation autochtone, et ce, pour l’ensemble du territoire canadien. S’ajoute enfin à ce qui précède une analyse des enjeux propres à diverses juridictions étrangères présentant, elles aussi, quelconques sensibilités sur le plan linguistique. À ce dernier effet, des universitaires de la Catalogne, de la Belgique, de la Suisse, du Maroc et de la Russie ont déjà confirmé leur contribution à titre de correspondants étrangers, laquelle contribution viendra, sans nul doute, optimiser le rayonnement international des travaux de l’Observatoire.

Notre plateforme technologique, hébergée auprès du Centre de recherche en droit public (CRDP) de l’Université de Montréal, a pour effet de faciliter la diffusion de l’information obtenue par l’entremise de chercheurs-étudiants, ceux-ci tâchant de répertorier les textes législatifs, décisions jurisprudentielles et autres ouvrages doctrinaux pertinents. Une veille médiatique ainsi qu’un blogue servent par ailleurs de pierre d’assise au dialogue tenu entre l’Observatoire, le milieu universitaire et la société civile.

Enfin, nous tenons à remercier deux juristes dont la réputation n’est plus à faire. D’abord, l’honorable Michel Bastarache, invité d’honneur au lancement de l’Observatoire et probablement le plus grand ambassadeur des droits linguistiques au pays. Votre caution morale nous est inestimable. Ensuite, le doyen de la Faculté de droit de l’Université de Montréal, Jean-François Gaudreault-DesBiens, pour l’appui et le soutien nec plus ultra témoignés quant au présent projet. Puisse l’Observatoire surpasser les espoirs aujourd’hui fondés en lui.

 

Frédéric Bérard et Stéphane Beaulac

Codirecteurs

Observatoire national en matière de droits linguistiques

Ce contenu a été mis à jour le 19 avril 2016 à 14 h 49 min.

Commentaires

Laisser un commentaire