Governments’ Efforts on Aboriginal Language Revitalization: Largely a Portrait of Inaction

 

Naiomi Metallic

*Assistant Professor, Schulich School of Law at Dalhousie University and Chancellor’s Chair in Aboriginal Law and Policy

 

Building on Karen Drake’s excellent piece on the recently filed s. 35 Aboriginal language rights law suit—the first in Canadian history—I will provide a summary of my research undertaken for the book chapter I authored in the 3rd edition of Language Rights in Canada,[1] on the actions taken by different governments in Canada to promote and protect Aboriginal language.[2]  The portrait that emerges is a varied one, but overall it reveals much to be desired and underscores why resort to litigation is needed to force governments to do more.

 

Despite lobbying from the Assembly of First Nations since the 1970s, recommendations made in numerous reports, including by the 1996 Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples,[3] and 2005 national task force report containing 25 specific recommendations on revitalizing Aboriginal languages,[4] there has been little done at the federal level.  There is nothing in the Indian Act,[5] the Official Languages Act,[6] or the Canadian Multiculturalism Act[7] that specifically references Aboriginal languages, nor any specific federal legislation on Aboriginal languages.[8]

 

When it comes to education on reserves, Canada provides some funding for Aboriginal language immersion programming but it is in tight competition with other programming.  Overall, funding for education on reserves is scarce and there is currently a complaint before the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal alleging Canada’s funding for education on reserve is inadequate.[9]  Canada also dictates the content of curriculum on reserve and some have charged there is insufficient attention paid to language and culture.[10]

 

Canada’s only real dedicated program for Aboriginal language revitalization, the Aboriginal Language Initiatives (ALI) Program, which funds community-based language projects that First Nations and Aboriginal organizations can apply for, has been harshly criticized as being wholly inadequate to achieve the goal of revitalizing endangered languages.[11]

 

Moving to other governments, in the territories, where there is a high concentration of Aboriginal peoples, we find somewhat greater efforts.  In the Yukon, although the Languages Act only recognizes English and French as its official languages, the law specifically recognizes the Aboriginal languages in the Yukon and express a commitment to take measures to preserve, develop, and enhance those languages.[12]  However, the only substantive right recognized in the Act the right to speak an Aboriginal language in the Legislative Assembly.  The Act also provides that the government may pass regulations on rights to receiving government services in Aboriginal languages,[13] but this power has never been acted on.  Yukon’s Education Act, on the other hand, permits public school classes to be offered in an Aboriginal language if there is demand and resources permit.[14]

 

In the Northwest Territories, where nine Aboriginal languages hold official language status,[15] speakers are entitled to be provided services in their language from government offices where there is significant demand,[16] in addition to being able to speak their language in the Legislative Assembly and the courts.[17]  NWT also has an official language commissioner who has the duty to investigate any complaints about failure to respect these rights.[18]  Finally, public school classes can be provided in an Aboriginal language by decision of a school board if there is a significant demand within the district.[19]

 

Nunavut, by far, has been the most active government in terms of protecting an Aboriginal language, namely the Inuit language.  The Official Languages Act establishes Inuit and French and English as the official languages of the territory and permits Inuit to be spoken in the Legislative Assembly and the courts, and for the preparation of Inuit versions of draft legislation.[20]  There is also the Inuit Language Protection Act which specifically seeks to increase fluency in Inuit, both oral and written, within the population of Nunavut.[21]  It does so by requiring all public institutions post all their signs in all three official languages and all government and municipal offices and private businesses to provide services in all three official languages.[22]  Inuit is also an official language of employment within territorial government offices.[23]  Also, all parents within Nunavut have the right to have their children instructed in schools in Inuit.[24]  To protect all these rights, Nunavut appoints an official language commissioner with the power to investigate any violations of language rights in the province.[25]  Importantly, the government has created a fund to finance projects on Aboriginal languages.[26]

 

Outside of the territories, two provinces that have been relatively more active on Aboriginal language revitalization have been British Columbia and Manitoba.  Both have passed laws recognizing the importance of Aboriginal languages and their revitalization.[27]  BC’s law creates specific a fund to financing projects to promote Aboriginal languages and culture;[28] while Manitoba’s law does not, making the law’s impact primarily symbolic.

 

In Quebec, the Charter of French Language recognizes Aboriginal peoples’ right to preserve and develop their languages and exempts First Nations reserve from the application of French language requirement within their community.[29] The government also created a policy on supporting Aboriginal languages in 1989.  There is, however, little information about substantive supports for Aboriginal languages available in Quebec, except some provisions in the James Bay Agreement requiring provision of some services to Cree and Naskapi peoples by government authorities.

 

In most provinces, the only action being taken to promote Aboriginal languages are policies within education departments to permit instruction of Aboriginal languages in public schools, with no formal recognition of Aboriginal languages or the need for their revitalization in provincial laws or even policies.

 

 

[1] Les droits linguistiques au Canada (Édition Yvon Blais, 2013) (available in French only).

[2] This piece takes for granted that promoting and revitalizing Aboriginal Languages is important and that governments in Canada have a significant role to play in this regard.   Some of the reasons for this were canvassed in Karen Drake’s piece and, due to space constraints, I will not repeat these here.

[3] The RCAP report contained several recommendations on language, culture and education, including the establishment of a national language foundation: see Volume 3, “Gathering Strength”, pp. 579-590.

[4] See Towards the New Beginning‒A Foundational Report for a Strategy to Revitalize First Nations, Inuit and Métis Languages and Culture (2005).  The Task Force came up with several recommendations, including the creation of an institute for Aboriginal languages whose specific job would be to protect and promote their survival. However, with the change from a Liberal to a Conservative federal government in 2006, the recommendations in the report have not been acted on.

[5] Indian Act, RSC 1985, c I-5.

[6] Official Languages Act, RSC 1985, c 31 (4th Supp).

[7] Canadian Multiculturalism Act, RSC 1985, c 24 (4th Supp).

[8] In 2007, Senator Joyal introduced a Bill in the Senate called an Act for the Advancement of Aboriginal Languages of Canada to recognize and respect Aboriginal language rights (Bill S-237).  The Bill proposed to recognize the right of Aboriginal Peoples of Canada to use, preserve, revitalize and promote their languages and expressed the Government of Canada’s commitment to preserve, revitalize and promote Aboriginal languages in Canada.  Unfortunately, the Bill never made it past second reading.  Senator Joyal recently re-introduced the bill (S-212) in December 2015, which is now being debated at the Second Reading stage in the Senate.  Click here to read the Bill and follow its progress.

[9] Brought by the Mississaugas of New Credit First Nation.  More information on the case can be found here.

[10] See 2005 task force report at pp. 66-67.  However, in Nova Scotia and British Columbia, following trilateral negotiations, legislation was passed giving greater control to First Nations to administer education programs and services on a reserve.  This includes the power to control the standards for language of instruction within the classroom.  See First Nations Jurisdiction over Education in British Columbia Act, SC 2006, c 10, First Nations Education Act, SBC 2007, c 40, Mi'kmaq Education Act, SC 1998, c 24 and Mi'kmaq Education Act, SNS 1998, c 17.

[11] According to the 2005 Task Force report, at p. 102.

[12] Languages Act, RSY 2002, c 133, s 1(3).

[13] Ibid at s 11.

[14] Education Act, RSY 2002, c 61, s 50.

[15] Official Languages Act, RSNWT 1988, c O-1.

[16] Ibid at s 11.

[17] Ibid at ss 6 and 9(2).

[18]  Ibid at ss 20-25.

[19] Education Act, SNWT 1995, c 28, s 71(4).

[20] Official Languages Act, SNu 2008, c 10, ss 3(1), 4, 7, 8.  Official laws do not have to be published in the Inuit language, however, all draft bills put before the Legislative Assembly must include a draft version in Inuktitut.  The government may also publish an official Inuktitut version of a statute at its discretion.

[21] Inuit Language Protection Act, SNu 2008, c 17.

[22] Ibid ss 1-7.

[23] Ibid s 12.

[24] Education Act, SNu 2008, c 15, s 23.

[25] Official Languages Act, supra note 19 at ss 16-36; Inuit Language Protection Act, supra note 20 at ss 27.1-30.

[26] Inuit Language Protection Act, ibid note 20 at s 25.1 and Official Languages Act, ibid note 19 at s 13.1.

[27] First Peoples' Heritage, Language and Culture Act, RSBC 1996, c 147 and The Aboriginal Languages Recognition Act, CCSM c A1.5.

[28] The law creates a First Peoples Heritage, Language and Culture Council whose mandate is to administer funds for the purpose of financing projects to promote Aboriginal languages and culture.

[29] Charter of the French Language, CQLR c C-11, preamble and s 97.

 

*The opinions expressed in this article are the author’s own and do not necessarily reflect the view of the National Observatory on Language Rights.

 

This content has been updated on 22 September 2016 at 13 h 06 min.

Comments

Comment

Les efforts des gouvernements quant à la revitalisation des langues autochtones : un portrait essentiellement d’inaction

Par : Naomi Metallic, professeure adjointe à la Schulich School of Law de l’Université Dalhousie ainsi que Chancellor’s Chair in Aboriginal Law and Policy.

 

 

Pour faire suite à l’excellente publication de Karen Drake portant sur le litige concernant l’art. 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 quant aux droits linguistiques des Autochtones—une première au Canada—je propose un résumé de la recherche que j’ai entreprise dans le cadre de la rédaction d’un chapitre de la 3e édition des Droits linguistiques au Canada (Éditions Yvon Blais) sur les projets gouvernementaux à travers le pays consistant à protéger et promouvoir les langues autochtones.[1] Le tableau qui en ressort est hétérogène, mais pointe vers ce qui est souhaitable et nous montre pourquoi le recours au litige est nécessaire pour forcer les gouvernements à en faire davantage.

 

Malgré un lobbying de l’Assemblée des Premières Nations depuis les années 70, des recommandations déposées dans de multiples rapports—dont la Commission royale sur les peuples autochtones de 1996[2]—et un rapport national de 2005 comportant 25 recommandations précises concernant la revitalisation des langues autochtones[3], très peu fut accompli par le palier fédéral. Rien dans la Loi sur les Indiens[4], la Loi sur les langues officielles[5], la Loi sur le multiculturalisme canadien[6] ou toute autre loi fédérale ne réfère spécifiquement aux langues autochtones[7].

 

Quant à l’éducation dans les réserves, le Canada procure des fonds pour des programmes d’immersion de langues autochtones, lesquels sont en sérieuse concurrence avec d’autres programmes. Somme toute, ces fonds se font rares et une plainte logée devant le Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne laisse entendre que le financement de l’éducation dans les réserves est inadéquat[8]. Le Canada dicte aussi le contenu du cursus dans les réserves et certains ont jugé qu’on y accorde trop peu d’importance à la langue et à la culture[9].

 

Le seul véritable programme canadien dédié à la revitalisation des langues autochtones, l’Initiative des langues autochtones (ILA), qui finance des projets linguistiques communautaires auxquels les Premières Nations et les organisations autochtones peuvent souscrire, a été sévèrement critiqué comme étant totalement inadéquat dans l’optique d’une revitalisation des langues menacées d’extinction[10].

 

Les efforts des gouvernements des territoires, où il y a une plus forte densité de peuples autochtones, sont davantage soutenus. Au Yukon, quoique la Loi sur les langues ne reconnaisse que l’anglais et le français comme ses langues officielles, elle reconnait spécifiquement les langues autochtones du Yukon, en plus d’exprimer l’engagement de prendre des mesures pour la préservation, le développement et le renforcement de ces langues[11]. Toutefois, le seul droit substantiel reconnu dans la loi est le droit de parler une langue autochtone à l’Assemblée législative. La loi prévoit aussi que le gouvernement peut règlementer quant aux droits de recevoir des services publics en une langue autochtone[12], mais ce pouvoir ne fut jamais utilisé. La Loi sur l’éducation du Yukon, elle, permet qu’on offre des cours dans les écoles publiques en une langue autochtone lorsque les demandes et les ressources le permettent[13].

 

Dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, où neuf langues autochtones ont le statut de langue officielle[14], les locuteurs autochtones ont droit à des services publics dans leur langue lorsqu’il y a une demande suffisamment abondante[15], en plus de pouvoir parler leur langue à l’Assemblée législative et dans toutes les cours[16]. Les Territoires du Nord-Ouest ont aussi un commissaire aux langues officielles qui a pour tâche d’enquêter sur toute plainte quant à la non-exécution de ces lois[17]. Enfin, les cours dans les écoles publiques peuvent être donnés dans une langue autochtone suivant la décision du conseil de l’école si la demande dans la région est importante[18].

 

Le Nunavut a de loin le gouvernement le plus actif en matière de protection des langues autochtones, notamment la langue inuit. La Loi sur les langues officielles fait de l’inuit, du français et de l’anglais les langues officielles du territoire, elle permet d’utiliser l’inuit à l’Assemblée législative et dans les cours, et permet aussi de demander la version inuit des projets de loi[19]. La Loi sur la protection de la langue inuit a pour but de rehausser la maitrise de l’inuit à même la population du Nunavut[20]. Elle s’y prend en exigeant que toute institution publique affiche ses panneaux dans les trois langues officielles et que les bureaux de la fonction publique et les entreprises privées procurent leurs services dans les trois langues officielles également[21]. L’inuit est aussi une langue officielle de l’emploi dans les sièges gouvernementaux sur le territoire[22]. De plus, tous les parents du Nunavut ont le droit d’exiger l’instruction en inuit pour leurs enfants sur le territoire[23]. Afin de protéger ces droits, le Nunavut nomme un commissaire aux langues officielles qui a le pouvoir d’enquêter sur toute violation d’un droit linguistique sur le territoire[24]. Il faut aussi souligner que le gouvernement du Nunavut a créé un fonds pour financer des projets sur les langues autochtones[25].

 

À l’extérieur des territoires, les deux provinces qui furent relativement actives sur l’affaire des langues autochtones sont la Colombie-Britannique et le Manitoba. Les deux provinces ont déposé des lois qui reconnaissent l’importance des langues autochtones et leur revitalisation[26]. Une loi de la Colombie-Britannique crée un fonds dédié à financer des projets promouvant les langues et les cultures autochtones[27]; une loi manitobaine ne le fait pas, son impact étant plutôt symbolique.

 

Au Québec, la Charte de la langue française reconnait les droits des peuples autochtones de préserver et développer leurs langues et exempte les réserves des Premières Nations de l’application de l’exigence de la langue française dans leurs communautés[28]. Le gouvernement a aussi créé une politique soutenant les langues autochtones en 1989. Cependant, il y a peu d’information quant à toute forme substantive de soutien aux langues autochtones au Québec, sauf quelques dispositions de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois qui exigent des autorités gouvernementales de pourvoir à certains services aux peuples Cris et Innus.

 

Dans la plupart des provinces, la seule action promouvant les langues autochtones est l’établissement de politiques dans les ministères de l’Éducation permettant une instruction dans une langue autochtone dans les écoles publiques, sans qu’il y ait quelque reconnaissance que ce soit de ces langues autochtones ou de leur besoin d’être revitalisées à coup de lois ou de politiques provinciales.

 

 

[1] La présente publication tient pour acquis que la promotion et la protection des langues autochtones sont importantes et que les différents gouvernements au Canada ont un rôle tout aussi important pour mener ce projet. Certaines raisons expliquant cela furent abordées dans la publication de Karen Drake, et l’espace étant limité, je ne les aborderai pas ici.

[2] Cette Commission comportait plusieurs recommandations sur la langue, la culture et l’éducation, incluant l’établissement d’une fondation sur la langue nationale : voir vol. 3, Gathering Strength, p. 579-590.

[3] Voir Towards the New Beginning‒A Foundational Report for a Strategy to Revitalize First Nations, Inuit and Métis Languages and Culture (2005). Parmi les recommandations apportées par ce groupe de travail, on trouvait la création d’un Institut pour les langues autochtones dont la tâche principale serait de protéger et promouvoir la survie de ces langues. Cependant, suite au passage d’un gouvernement fédéral libéral vers un gouvernement conservateur en 2006, il ne fut pas donné suite à ces recommandations.

[4] Loi sur les Indiens, R.S.C. 1985, c. I-5.

[5] Loi sur les langues officielles, R.S.C. 1985, c. 31.

[6] Loi sur le multiculturalisme canadien, R.S.C. 1985, c. 24.

[7] En 2007, le sénateur Joyal a introduit au Sénat un projet de loi intitulé la Loi sur les langues autochtones du Canada afin de reconnaitre et de respecter les droits linguistiques autochtones (Projet de loi S-237). Il proposait de reconnaitre les droits des peuples autochtones du Canada d’utiliser, préserver, revitaliser et promouvoir les langues autochtones au Canada. Malheureusement, le projet de loi n’a jamais été plus loin qu’une seconde lecture. Le sénateur Joyal a récemment réintroduit le projet de loi S-212 en décembre 2015, lequel est présentement débattu au stade de la seconde lecture au Sénat. Cliquer ici pour faire la lecture du projet de loi et pour suivre sa progression.

[8] Cette plainte provient de la Mississaugas of the New Credit First Nation. Des informations supplémentaires sur le sujet peuvent être trouvées ici (en anglais).

[9] Voir le rapport p. 66-67 (en anglais). Cependant, en Nouvelle-Écosse et en Colombie-Britannique, suivant des négociations tripartites, une nouvelle loi donne davantage de contrôle aux Premières Nations dans la gestion des programmes et services éducatifs dans une réserve. Ceci inclut le pouvoir de déterminer les standards de la langue d’instruction dans la salle de classe. Voir First Nations Jurisdiction over Education in British Columbia Act, S.C. 2006, c. 10, First Nations Education Act, S.B.C. 2007, c. 40, Mi’kmaq Education Act, S.C. 1998, c. 24 and Mi’kmaq Education Act, S.N.S. 1998, c. 17.

[10] D’après le rapport du groupe de travail de 2005 mentionné à la note 3, p. 102.

[11] Loi sur les langues, L.R.Y. 2002, c. 133, art. 1(3).

[12] Ibid, art. 11.

[13] Loi sur l’éducation, L.R.Y. 2002, c. 61, art. 50.

[14] Loi sur les langues officielles, L.R.T.N.-O. 1988, c. O-1.

[15] Ibid, art. 11.

[16] Ibid, art. 6 et 9(2).

[17] Ibid, art. 20-25.

[18] Loi sur l’éducation, L.T.N.-O. 1995, c. 28, art. 71(4).

[19] Loi sur les langues officielles, L.Nun. 2008, c. 10, art. 3(1), 4, 7, 8. Les lois officielles n’ont pas besoin d’être publiées en inuit. Par contre, tous les projets de loi déposés à l’assemblée législative doivent inclure une version inuktitut. Le gouvernement peut aussi publier une version officielle d’une loi en inuktitut.

[20] Loi sur la protection de la langue inuit, L.Nun. 2008, ch. 17.

[21] Ibid, art. 1-7.

[22] Ibid, art. 12.

[23] Loi sur l’éducation, L.Nun. 2008, c. 15, art. 23.

[24] Loi sur les langues officielles, supra note 19, art. 16-36; Loi de la protection de la langue inuit, supra note 20, art. 27.1-30.

[25] Loi sur la protection de la langue inuit, supra note 20, art. 25.1 et Loi sur les langues officielles, ibid note 19, art. 13.1.

[26] Loi sur le patrimoine, la langue et la culture des Premiers Peuples, R.S.B.-C. 1996, c. 147 et Loi sur la reconnaissance des langues autochtones, C.P.L.M. c. A1.5.

[27] La loi crée un Conseil de l’héritage, la langue et la culture des Premiers Peuples dont le mandat est de gérer les fonds destinés à financer les projets visant à promouvoir les langues et les cultures autochtones.

[28] Charte de la langue française, L.R.Q. c  C-11, préambule et art. 97.

 

 

 

*Toutes opinions exprimées dans cet article sont celles de l’auteur et ne reflètent pas nécessairement la vision de l’Observatoire national en matière de droits linguistiques.

Ce contenu a été mis à jour le 22 septembre 2016 à 13 h 06 min.

Commentaires

Laisser un commentaire