Yukon

Yukon Francophone School Board, Education Area #23 v. Yukon (Attorney General), [2015] 2 SCR 282

Presentation of the Judgment

The Supreme Court, in this decision, states that the right to determine the admission criteria for students of the School Board, including the possibility of admitting children of non-rights holders, is a power of a province, but one which may be delegated.

 

Questions at bar (regarding language rights)

“Whether a school board can unilaterally decide to admit students who are not covered by s. 23 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms?”

 

The Facts

The Yukon Francophone School Board, Education Area #23, is contesting the French Language Instruction Regulation. It contends that the regulation contravenes section 23 of the Canadian Charter because several of the provisions circumvent the rights of Francophone parents to determine themselves the admission criteria for students of the School Board, including the children of non-rights holders.

According to the Regulation, only “eligible students” are entitled to receive French language education in the Yukon. However, the School Board would prefer to lessen the admission criteria to one that, notably, would allow the school to act as a French immersion school.

 

Decision

The Supreme Court writes that “the Court of Appeal’s conclusion that the Board could not unilaterally decide whom to admit to its school should not be disturbed. There is no doubt that a province or territory can delegate the function of setting admission criteria for children of non-rights holders to a school board. This delegation can include granting a minority language school board wide discretion to admit the children of non-rights holders. In this case, however, the Yukon has not delegated the function of setting admission criteria for the children of non-rights holders to the Board. In the absence of any such delegation, there is no authority for the Board to unilaterally set admission criteria which are different from what is set out in the territorial regulation applicable to French-language instruction.”

 

 

This content has been updated on 7 April 2016 at 15 h 36 min.

Yukon

Commission scolaire francophone du Yukon, district scolaire #23 c. Yukon (procureure générale), [2015] 2 RCS 282

Présentation de la décision

Dans ce pourvoi, la Cour suprême statue que le droit de déterminer les conditions d’admission des élèves de la Commission scolaire, incluant les enfants de non-ayants droit, relève des provinces. Toutefois, rien ne s’oppose à ce que ce droit fasse l’objet d’une délégation.

 

Faits

Le Règlement sur l’instruction en français est contesté par la Commission scolaire francophone du Yukon, district scolaire #23. Celle-ci invoque la violation de l’article 23 de la Charte canadienne au motif que diverses dispositions briment le droit des parents de la minorité francophone à déterminer eux-mêmes les conditions d’admission des élèves de la Commission scolaire, incluant les enfants de non-ayants droit.

Selon ledit règlement, « [s]euls les élèves admissibles ont le droit de recevoir une instruction en français dans une école du district scolaire #23 ». En fait, la Commission souhaite créer un régime d’admission plus généreux que celui prévu par le règlement en question, notamment en s’assurant de pouvoir être considérée comme une école d’immersion française.

 

Question en litige (concernant les droits linguistiques)

« La commission scolaire peut-elle décider unilatéralement d’admettre des élèves qui ne sont pas visés par l’article 23 de la Charte canadienne ? »

 

Décision

La Cour suprême indique qu’ « il n’y a pas lieu de modifier la conclusion de la Cour d’appel [à l’effet] que la Commission n’était pas habilitée à décider unilatéralement qui pouvait être admis à son école. Il ne fait aucun doute qu’une province ou un territoire puisse déléguer à une commission scolaire la fonction de fixer les critères d’admission à l’égard des enfants de non-ayants droit. Par cette délégation, on peut conférer à une commission scolaire de la minorité linguistique un large pouvoir discrétionnaire pour admettre les enfants de non-ayants droit. En l’espèce, toutefois, le Yukon n’a pas délégué à la Commission la fonction de fixer les critères d’admission à l’égard des enfants de non-ayants droit. À défaut d’une telle délégation, la Commission n’a pas le pouvoir de fixer unilatéralement des critères d’admission différents de ceux établis dans le règlement territorial applicable à l’instruction en français ».

 

Ce contenu a été mis à jour le 7 avril 2016 à 15 h 36 min.