Saskatchewan

R v. Mercure, [1988] 1 S.C.R. 234

Presentation of the Judgment

This Supreme Court judgement allows the province of Saskatchewan to establish a new language framework. After this decision, Manitoba will no longer have the same language requirements and will adopt the Saskatchewan Language Act.

 

The Facts

André Mercure contests a speeding ticket written only in English. He asks the Tribunal for all the procedural rules in French. Moreover, he requests that the Legislative Assembly of the province provide him with a French version of the laws pertaining to his accusation.

 

Question at bar (regarding language rights)

“This case raises several important questions: whether a French-speaking person accused of a provincial quasi-criminal offence under a Saskatchewan statute has the right to use French at his trial; whether he has the right to have the trial conducted in that language; whether the statutes of that province are required to be published in both English and French; whether such rights are constitutionally entrenched; and the content of any such rights.”

 

Decision

The Supreme Court mentions that there is no law by the Saskatchewan’s provincial legislature dealing with these issues; nor is there any express provision in the province’s constituent Act, the Saskatchewan Act. Therefore, the Court must decide if section 110 of the North-West Territories Act is applicable to Saskatchewan even with the existence of the Saskatchewan Act. This provision stipulates that “[e]ither the English or the French language may be used by any person in the debates of the Legislative Assembly of the Territories and in the proceedings before the courts”. Both languages are also used in the Assembly’s records and journals. Also, “[a]ll ordinances made under the Act shall be printed in both languages”. Saskatchewan’s territory has not always been part of the Canadian territory and this makes the use of section 110 of the North-West Territories Act problematic. The Supreme Court nevertheless rules that said section applies to the province. The province therefore does have has responsibilities with regard to the use of French and English. However, the rights granted by section 110 are not enshrined in the Canadian Constitution. Thus, Saskatchewan has the power to modify its constitution though ordinary legislation.

This content has been updated on 7 April 2016 at 15 h 35 min.

Saskatchewan

R c. Mercure, [1988] 1 R.C.S. 234

Présentation de la décision

Cet arrêt de la Cour suprême permettra à la province de la Saskatchewan d’instaurer un nouveau régime linguistique. En effet, à la suite de cette décision, la province se soustraira à ses obligations linguistiques et adoptera la Loi linguistique de la Saskatchewan.

 

Faits

André Mercure conteste un procès-verbal pour excès de vitesse rédigé en anglais. Il demande au tribunal que toutes les règles procédurales se déroulent en français. De plus, il souhaite que l’Assemblée législative de la province lui fournisse une version française des lois relatives à son accusation.

 

Questions en litige (concernant les droits linguistiques)

« Un francophone accusé d’une infraction quasi criminelle provinciale aux termes d’une loi de la Saskatchewan a-t-il le droit d’utiliser le français à son procès ?

A-t-il droit à un procès dans cette langue? Les lois de cette province doivent-elles être publiées en français et en anglais ?

Ces droits sont-ils enchâssés dans la Constitution ? Et enfin, quel est le contenu de ces droits ? »

 

Décision

La Cour suprême mentionne qu’il n’y a aucune loi de l’Assemblée législative de la Saskatchewan qui traite de ces questions, pas plus qu’il n’y a de dispositions claires à ce sujet dans la Loi sur la Saskatchewan, la loi constitutive de la province. La Cour doit donc se demander si l’article 110 de l’Acte des Territoires du Nord-Ouest est toujours applicable à la Saskatchewan en vertu de la Loi sur la Saskatchewan. Cette disposition énonce que chacun peut utiliser le français ou l’anglais dans les débats de l’Assemblée et devant les tribunaux. Les deux langues sont également utilisées pour la rédaction des procès-verbaux et des journaux de l’Assemblée. Les ordonnances sont aussi imprimées dans les deux langues. De plus, le territoire de la Saskatchewan n’ayant pas toujours fait partie du territoire canadien, il devient difficile de recourir à l’article 110 de l’Acte des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. La Cour suprême statue tout de même que cet article s’applique à la province, laquelle a donc des obligations quant à l’usage du français et de l’anglais. Cependant, les droits octroyés par l’article 110 ne sont pas inscrits dans la Constitution du Canada. Cela étant, la Saskatchewan a le pouvoir de modifier sa constitution par voie législative ordinaire.

 

Ce contenu a été mis à jour le 7 avril 2016 à 15 h 35 min.