Ontario

 

Ottawa Separate Schools Trustees v. Mackell, [1917] A.C. 62/ Mackell v. Ottawa Separate School Trustees

Presentation of the Judgment

This decision, taken by the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in London, examines the constitutionality of Regulation No. 17 adopted by the Ontario Ministry of Education in 1913 with the aim of restricting the use of the French language in denominational schools.

 

The Facts

The regulation made it compulsory for teachers of certain denominational schools to understand English. The appellants challenge the validity of the regulation on the grounds that it was contrary to and in violation of the British North America Act of 1867.

 

Questions at bar (regarding language rights)

"Did the Ontario Minister of Education have the power to adopt Regulation No. 17?
Which rights and privileges do denominational schools have under the British North America Act?
Are these rights and privileges being violated by Regulation No. 17?"

 

Decision

Their Lordships must decide if the Minister of Education had the power to adopt said regulation. They respond in the affirmative. According to the Privy Council, section 133 of the British North America Act, the only section protecting language rights at the time, did not apply to the education field. Their Lordships are of the opinion that denominational school’s right to independent management does not include the right to determine the language of instruction. They come to the conclusion that the regulation was validly adopted, as the power to legislate on the matter of education is invested in the provincial legislatures under section 93 of the British North America Act.

 

Abbey (litigation Guardian of) v. Essex County Board of Education, (1999) 42 O.R. (3d) 481 (Ont. C.A.)

Presentation of the decision

This decision concerns the right of parents, as members of the linguistic majority, to have their children educated in a minority language school under section 23 of the Canadian Charter and the Education Act of Ontario.

 

The Facts

The appellant, Susan Abbey, is an Ontario mother of three, whose first language, and the language in which she received her primary school education, is English. The oldest child of the Abbey family is able to attend a French language school after being accepted by an admissions committee. After moving within the province to Essex County, the appellant requests that her children be permitted to attend the French language school operated by a local separate school board, as per section 23 of the Canadian Charter. That board accepts the request of the appellant subject to the Essex Public Board paying the tuition fees. However, the Essex Public Board refuses to pay these fees claiming the Abbey family does not qualify for section 23 Charter rights. At trial, the Divisional Court agrees with the Essex Public Board and concludes that section 23 of the Canadian Charter does not apply to the Abbey children. The appellant appeals that decision.

 

Questions at bar (regarding language rights)

Does section 23 of the Canadian Charter, which guarantees education in the language of the linguistic minority, only apply to members of the minority in question?

 

Decision

The Court reverses the trial decision and maintains that the Education Act of Ontario, which allows Francophone school boards to accept children who are not from the linguistic minority through an admissions committee, opens the door to the application of section 23 of the Canadian Charter. According to the Court, a child accepted by an admissions committee, and all other children of the same family, can thus invoke the rights provided for in section 23 of the Charter.

 

Lalonde v. Ontario (Commission de restructuration des services de santé), [1999] O.J. No. 4489 (Ont. Div. Ct.) (LN/QL)

Presentation of the Judgment

This decision addresses the protection of institutions that serve the linguistic minority in their language on the basis of the unwritten constitutional principle concerning the protection of minorities.

 

The Facts

This decision concerns the constitutionality of the directives given by the Health Services Restructuring Commission. Said directives, if implemented, would reduce Hôpital Montfort’s (a French-language hospital in the Region of Ottawa-Carleton) capacity to offer the totality of their services and medical training solely in French.

 

Questions at bar (regarding language rights)

"Does the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms apply to the directives issued by the Commission in respect to Hôpital Monfort and, if so, do said directives violate section 15 of the Charter of Rights ?
Should the directives be set aside in this case because they violate one of the fundamental organizing principles underlying the Canadian constitution, namely, the principle of protection of minorities ?"

 

Decision

The Ontario Divisional Court thoroughly examines the history of the Franco-Ontarian community as well as Hôpital Montfort’s place within it. It stresses that, since the Hospital is designated as a government agency in the French Language Services Act, the Franco-Ontarian community’s language rights relating to the Hospital must be interpreted liberally. The Court determines that the Commission is subject to the Canadian Charter, but that section 15 cannot be invoked to supplement language rights, which are already protected under sections 16 to 22 and 23 of the Canadian Charter. However, the Court concludes that the Commission’s directives must be invalidated, because they negatively affect Hôpital Montfort. The Court qualifies Hôpital Montfort as an important institution for the Franco-Ontarian community of Ottawa-Carleton. The directives should have afforded greater importance to the unwritten constitutional principle of the protection of minorities, because it is “one of the fundamental organizing principles of the [Canadian] Constitution” which, as set out in the Quebec Secession Reference, gives rise to obligations.

 

Lalonde v. Ontario (Commission de restructuration des services de santé), [2001] No. 4768 (Ont. Div. Ct.) (LN/QL)

Presentation of the Judgment

This decision analyses the applicability of the unwritten constitutional principle of the protection of minorities to Hôpital Montfort. In it’s analysis, the Ontario Court of Appeal also specifies the interpretation to be given to subsection 16(3) of the Canadian Charter and to section 5 of the French Language Services Act.

 

The Facts

After the declaration of invalidity made by the Ontario Divisional Court (see Lalonde v. Ontario (Commission de restructuration des services de santé́), [1999] O.J. No. 4489 (Ont. Div. Ct.) (LN/QL)), the Ontario government tries to defend the constitutional validity of the directives given by the Health Services Restructuring Commission before the court of appeal of the province.

 

Questions at bar (regarding language rights)

"Is the Divisional Court’s decision erroneous ?
Is Hôpital Montfort protected by subsection 16(3) of the Canadian Charter of Rights ?
Do the directives given by the Commission comply with section 15 of the Canadian Charter of Rights ?
Is Hôpital Montfort subject to the unwritten constitutional principle of the protection of minorities ?
Do the directives violate the French Language Services Act ?"

 

Decision 

The tribunal confirms the previous decision. The Ontario Court of Appeal rules that sections 15 and 16(3) of the Canadian Charter of Rights do not protect Hôpital Montfort. It agrees with the Divisional Court and concludes that section 15 of the Canadian Charter cannot expand the scope of language rights. As for section 16(3), it does not grant constitutional protection to language rights, but allows the adoption of measures that aim to advance the genuine equality of French and English. The Court confirms that the unwritten constitutional principle of the protection of minorities is part of the structure of the Canadian constitution and possesses normative force. The directives emanating from the Commission must therefore comply with it. With regard to the French Language Services Act, the tribunal finds that the directives, as written, would run counter to the objective and the goals of said act because they infringe on the Francophone minority’s right to receive services in a truly francophone environment. The directives are therefore invalidated, once again.

 

Galganov v. Russell (Township), [2012] ONCA 409

Presentation of the Judgment

This case addresses the capacity of a municipality to require bilingualism in commercial advertising located within the boundaries of the municipality’s jurisdiction. It also takes a detailed look at the impact that such a requirement has on the right to freedom of expression under the Charter of Rights.

 

The Facts

Howard Galagony and Serge Brisson, two merchants, seek to have by-law no. 49-2008, adopted by the Township of Rusell, declared inoperative. Said by-law requires that the content of any new exterior commercial signs be in French and English. The appellants argue that the municipality did not have the required jurisdiction to adopt said by-law and that the latter infringes upon their right to freedom of expression under subsection 2(b) of the Canadian Charter.

 

Questions at bar (regarding language right)

"Is by-law 49-2008 ultra vires under the Township’s authority ?
If not, is the by-law’s infringement on the freedom of expression unjustified ?"

 

Decision

The Court opts for a liberal and generous interpretation of the Municipal Act, 2001, which the Township of Russell is subject to, and concludes that said Township may legislate in relation to language rights by virtue of its general municipal power to pass by-laws for matters preserving the social well-being of the municipality. The court also contends that although by-law no. 49-2008 infringes upon freedom of expression, said infringement is justified under section 1 of the Canadian Charter.

This content has been updated on 27 August 2016 at 15 h 00 min.

Ontario

Ottawa Separate Schools Trustees v. Mackell, [1917] A.C. 62/ Mackell v. Ottawa Separate School Trustees

Présentation de la décision

Cette décision, rendue par le comité judiciaire du Conseil privé de Londres, se penche sur la constitutionnalité du Règlement No. 17 adopté par le ministère de l’Éducation de l’Ontario en 1913, lequel règlement ayant pour but de réduire l’utilisation du français dans les écoles confessionnelles.

Faits

Le règlement obligeait les enseignants de certaines écoles confessionnelles à comprendre l’anglais. Les appelants ont contesté la constitutionnalité du règlement au motif que celui-ci contrevenait à l’Acte d’Amérique du Nord britannique.

Questions en litige (concernant les droits linguistiques)

« Le Ministre de l’Éducation de l’Ontario avait-il la compétence requise pour adopter le Règlement No. 17  ?
De quels droits et privilèges jouissent les écoles confessionnelles en vertu de l’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique ?
Ces droits et privilèges ont-ils été enfreints par le Règlement No. 17  ? »

Décision

Les Lords du Conseil privé devaient déterminer si le ministère de l’Éducation possédait la compétence requise pour adopter ce règlement. Selon le Conseil Privé, l’article 133 de l’Acte d’Amérique du Nord britannique, seul article protégeant les droits linguistiques à l’époque, ne s’applique pas au domaine de l’éducation. Les Lords sont d’avis que le droit de gestion indépendante dont jouissent les écoles confessionnelles inclut le droit de déterminer la langue d’enseignement. Le pouvoir de légiférer en matière d’éducation étant dévolu aux législatures provinciales en vertu de l’article 93 de l’Acte d’Amérique du Nord britannique, ils concluent que le règlement a validement été adopté.

 

Abbey (litigation Guardian of) v. Essex County Board of Education, (1999) 42 O.R. (3d) 481(Ont. C.A.)

Présentation de la décision

Cette décision traite du droit que possèdent les parents membres de la majorité linguistique de faire instruire leurs enfants dans une école de la minorité linguistique en vertu de l’article 23 de la Charte canadienne et de la Loi sur l’éducation de l’Ontario.

Faits

L’appelante, Susan Abbey, est une mère de trois enfants de l’Ontario dont la langue maternelle et la langue dans laquelle elle a reçu son instruction est l’anglais. L’ainé des enfants de la famille Abbey a pu recevoir son éducation dans une école séparée française après avoir été admis par un comité d’admission. À la suite de son déménagement dans une autre région de l’Ontario, l’appelante s’adresse au Directeur de l’Éducation de l’Ontario afin de faire instruire ses trois enfants dans une école séparée française en vertu de l’article 23 de la Charte canadienne. Le Directeur accepte la demande de l’appelante conditionnellement à ce que l’Essex Public Board paie les frais scolaires des enfants. Toutefois, l’Essex Public Board refuse d’acquitter ces frais, car il considère que l’article 23 de la Charte canadienne ne s’applique pas aux enfants de la famille Abbey. En première instance, la Cour divisionnaire a abondé dans le même sens que l’Essex Public Board et a conclu que l’article 23 de la Charte canadienne ne s’applique pas aux enfants Abbey. L’appelante se pourvoit contre ce jugement.

Question en litige (concernant les droits linguistiques)

« L’article 23 de la Charte canadienne garantissant une éducation dans la langue de la minorité linguistique s’applique-t-il seulement aux membres de la minorité linguistique en question ? »

Décision

La Cour infirme la décision de première instance et soutient que la Loi sur l’éducation de l’Ontario, en permettant aux conseils scolaires francophones, par l’entremise d’un comité d’admission, d’admettre des enfants non issus de la minorité linguistique, ouvre la porte à l’application de l’article 23 de la Charte canadienne. En effet, selon la Cour, l’enfant admis par le comité d’admission ainsi que tous les autres enfants de cette famille peuvent, de ce fait, se prévaloir des garanties prévues à l’article 23 de la Charte.

 

Lalonde c. Ontario (Commission de restructuration des services de santé), [1999] O.J. No. 4489 (C. div. Ont.) (LN/QL)

Présentation de la décision

Cette décision s’intéresse à la protection que peuvent recevoir les institutions qui desservent la minorité linguistique dans leur langue en vertu du principe constitutionnel non écrit de la protection des minorités.

Faits

Cette décision porte sur la constitutionnalité des directives données par la Commission de restructuration des services de santé de l’Ontario. Ces directives allaient limiter la capacité qu’avait l’Hôpital Montfort, un hôpital francophone de la région d’Ottawa-Carleton, de fournir des services et une formation médicale exclusivement en français.

Questions en litige (concernant les droits linguistiques)

« Est-ce que la Charte canadienne s’applique aux directives formulées par la Commission, dans l’affirmative, si celles-ci contreviennent à l’article 15 de la Charte canadienne ?
Est-ce que les directives doivent être écartées, car elles contreviennent au principe constitutionnel non écrit de protection des minorités ? »

Décision

La Cour divisionnaire de l’Ontario fait un examen exhaustif de l’histoire de la communauté franco-ontarienne et de la place qu’occupe l’Hôpital Montfort au sein de celle-ci. Elle souligne que, puisque l’Hôpital est désigné comme un organisme gouvernemental dans la Loi sur les services en français, les droits linguistiques de la communauté franco-ontarienne liés à l’Hôpital doivent être interprétés largement. La Cour statue que la Commission est soumise au contrôle de la Charte canadienne, mais que l’article 15 ne peut être utilisé pour étendre la portée des droits linguistiques déjà protégés par les articles 16 à 22 et 23 de la Charte canadienne. Toutefois, la Cour conclut que les directives de la Commission doivent être invalidées, car elles portent atteinte à l’Hôpital Montfort, que la Cour qualifie d’institution importante pour la communauté franco-ontarienne d’Ottawa-Carleton. Dans le processus d’adoption des directives, il aurait été préférable d’accorder plus de considération au principe constitutionnel non écrit de la protection des minorités, car il s’agit « [d]’un des principes structurels fondamentaux de la Constitution [canadienne] » qui, tel qu’énoncé dans le Renvoi sur la sécession du Québec, est générateur d’obligations.

 

Lalonde c. Ontario (Commission de restructuration des services de santé), [2001] O.J. No. 4767

Présentation de la décision

Cette décision s’attarde à l’applicabilité du principe constitutionnel non écrit de la protection des minorités à l’Hôpital Montfort. Dans son analyse, la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario précise également l’interprétation à donner aux articles 16(3) de la Charte canadienne et 5 de la Loi sur les services en français.

Faits

À la suite de la déclaration d’invalidité rendue par la Cour divisionnaire de l’Ontario (voir Lalonde c. Ontario (Commission de restructuration des services de santé), [1999] O.J. No. 4489 (C. div. Ont.) (LN/QL), le gouvernement ontarien tente de défendre la validité constitutionnelle des directives données par la Commission de restructuration des services de santé devant la Cour d’appel de la province.

Questions en litige (concernant les droits linguistiques)

« La décision rendue par la Cour divisionnaire est-elle erronée ?

L’Hôpital Montfort est-il protégé par l’article 16 (3) de la Charte canadienne ?

Les directives de la Commission respectent-elles l’article 15 de la Charte canadienne ?

L’Hôpital Montfort est-il soumis au principe constitutionnel non écrit de la protection des minorités ?

Les directives enfreignent-elles la Loi sur les services en français ? »

Décision

La Cour d’appel de l’Ontario confirme la décision antérieure. La Cour statue que l’Hôpital Montfort n’est pas protégé par les articles 15 et 16(3) de la Charte canadienne. Elle abonde dans le même sens que la Cour divisionnaire et conclut que l’article 15 de la Charte canadienne ne peut étendre la portée des droits linguistiques. L’article 16(3), quant à lui, ne confère pas de protection constitutionnelle aux droits linguistiques, mais permet l’adoption de mesures visant à faire « progresser l’égalité réelle » du français et de l’anglais.

 

Galganov v. Russell (Township), [2012] ONCA 409

Présentation de la décision

Cette décision traite de la capacité d’une municipalité à exiger le bilinguisme dans l’affichage des commerces situés sur son territoire. La décision s’attarde également à l’impact d’une telle exigence sur la liberté d’expression garantie par la Charte canadienne.

Faits

Les commerçants Howard Galaganov et Serge Brisson cherchent à faire déclarer inopérant le Règlement no. 49-2008 adopté par la municipalité de Russell. Ce règlement prévoit que l’affichage extérieur des nouveaux commerces doit se faire en anglais et en français. Les appelants invoquent que la municipalité n’avait pas la compétence requise pour adopter ce règlement et que ce dernier brime leur droit à la liberté d’expression prévu à l’article 2(b) de la Charte canadienne.

Questions en litige (concernant les droits linguistiques)

« La municipalité de Russell était-elle compétente pour adopter le Règlement 49-2008 ?

Dans l’affirmative, le règlement porte-t-il atteinte de manière injustifiée à la liberté d’expression ? »

Décision

La Cour d’appel de l’Ontario donne une interprétation large de la Loi de 2001 sur les municipalités à laquelle la municipalité de Russell est assujettie. La Cour conclut que la municipalité peut légiférer en matière de droits linguistiques, en vertu de son pouvoir général de pourvoir au bien-être de la municipalité. De l’avis de la Cour, bien que le Règlement 49-2008 porte atteinte à la liberté d’expression, une telle atteinte est justifiée par l’article 1 de la Charte canadienne.

 

Ce contenu a été mis à jour le 27 août 2016 à 15 h 00 min.