Nova Scotia

R. v. Saulnier, [1979] N.S.J. No.628 (N.S.C.A.)

Presentation of the Judgment

Rendered before the Canadian Charter, this decision seeks to determine whether, under section 3 of the Official Languages ​​Act, a Certificate of Analysis and a Notice of Intention to Produce Certificate issued under section 237 (b) of the Criminal Code must be written both in French and in English.

 

The Facts:

Mr. Saulnier is arrested by a police officer for driving with a blood alcohol level over 80 mg of alcohol / 100ml of blood, contrary to section 236 (1) of the Criminal Code. The trial judge of the Supreme Court of Nova Scotia acquits Mr. Saulnier. In his decision, the judge finds that the certificate and the notice issued to the respondent are not admissible in evidence because they were not been provided in French as well as in English. The Crown appeals that judgment.

 

Questions at bar (regarding language rights)

"Did the trial judge “err in holding that a Certificate of Analysis and a Notice of Intention to Produce Certificate should be provided to the Respondent in French as well as in English in order to be admissible as evidence against the Respondent?"

 

Decision

In a short decision, the Court holds that a Notice of Intention to Produce Certificate is not covered by section 3 of the Official Languages ​​Act because it is a notice addressing an accused and not the public. Moreover, the Court considers that section 3 of the Official Languages ​​Act is not applicable to Certificates of Analysis, since the issuance of these certificates is a service and therefore cannot be "promulgated", as are the terms in section 3 of the Official Languages ​​Act. Hence, the Court sets aside the acquittal and remits the matter to a trial judge to hold another trial for disposition of the criminal charges against the respondent.

 

Doucet-Boudreau v. Nova-Scotia (Minister of Education)), [2003] 3 S.C.R. 3

Presentation of the judgment

This decision focuses on the extent of the remedial power of the judges set down in section 24 (1) of the Canadian Charter. The interest of this decision lies in the context of the rapid assimilation that took place in Nova-Scotia and the urgent need to respond to the demands of the linguistic minority of the province.

 

The Facts

As communicated in the first instance, the judge recognized a violation of section 23 of the Canadian Charter, as the government delayed their obligation to establish francophone education institutions for the linguistic minority in Nova-Scotia. The judge obligates the province to do everything possible in order to respect the court order. He adds that "[...] the Court shall retain jurisdiction to hear reports from the Respondents respecting the Respondents’ compliance with this Order." Nova-Scotia upholds that this remedy can contravene with the established principle of functus officio, according to which a court's duty or authority comes to an end once the final judgment is made.

 

Questions at bar (regarding language rights)

"Does the judges remedial power established by section 24 (1) of the Canadian Charter permit a trial judge to declare him or herself competent to hear the province's reports on the efforts employed to offer instruction to the linguistic minority?

The issue at hand is to rule on the scope of this remedial power conferred by section 24 (1) of the Canadian Charter."

 

Decision

The remedy accorded in the first instance is adequate considering the circumstances. Indeed, within the context of the rapid assimilation of Francophones in Nova-Scotia, and the province's delay to provide educational institutions for the linguistic minority, the remedy is just and appropriate. The courts must provide effective remedies that are adapted to the circumstances in order to fully protect the rights and liberties protected by the Charter. The remedy accorded permits an effective protection of the minority language education rights guaranteed by section 23 of the Canadian Charter.

 

 

Reference re the Final Report of the Electoral Boundaries Commission, 2017 NSCA 10 (NF)

 

Presentation of the Judgment:

This case concerns the violation of Section 3 of the Canadian Charter regarding the concept of «effective representation». The Nova Scotia Court of Appeal discusses the possibility of saving such an infringement through section 1 of the Canadian.

 

Facts:

In 2012, the Nova Scotia government revised the province’s electoral boundaries, to abolish the electoral districts of Clare, Argyle and Richmond, as they are less populated than the average riding. This change responds to the final report of Electoral Boundaries Commission, which had to follow the Attorney General of the province’s requests, although it disagreed with this action. These districts were created following the recommendations made by the Commission, which wanted to encourage the participation and a better representation of Acadians.

 

Questions at bar (regarding linguistic rights):

 

  1. Does section 1 of the Nova Scotia’s House of Assembly Act which abolishes the electoral districts of Clare, Argyle and Richmond, where linguistic minorities are situated, violate section 3 of the Canadian Charter?

 

  1. If the answer to question 1 is ‘yes’, is the impugned legislation saved by operation of section 1 of the Canadian Charter?

 

Decision:

In order to respect section 3 of the Canadian Charter, Nova Scotia’s House of Assembly Act must not violate the right to effective representation. This right aims to obtain a certain balance between voter parity and a representation of cultural and linguistic minorities. «The administration authorized to fashion the boundaries must take these factors into consideration, which was prevented by the Attorney General’s intervention in the Commissions’ affairs. The abolition of the three districts could jeopardize the protection of these minorities’ rights. Therefore, this provision violates section 3 of the Canadian Charter. The impugned legislation cannot be saved by the Oakes test, because it is not rationally connected to the real and urgent legislative objective of insuring parity of voting power between ridings and is not a minimal impairment.

 

This content has been updated on 1 April 2017 at 13 h 18 min.

Nouvelle-Écosse

R.c. Saulnier, [1979] N.S.J. No.628 (N.S.C.S)

Présentation de la décision

Rendue avant l’adoption de la Charte canadienne, cette décision vise à déterminer si, en vertu de l’article 3 de la Loi sur les langues officielles, un certificat d’analyse et un avis d’intention de produire un certificat délivrés en vertu de l’article 237 (b) du Code criminel doivent être rédigés en français et en anglais.

Faits

Monsieur Saulnier est arrêté par un agent de police pour avoir conduit avec un taux d’alcoolémie supérieur à 80 mg d’alcool/100ml de sang conformément à l’article 236(1) du Code criminel. En première instance, le juge de la Cour suprême de la Nouvelle-Écosse a acquitté M. Saulnier. Dans sa décision, il affirme que le certificat et l’avis délivrés à ce dernier constituent des preuves inadmissibles puisqu’ils n’ont pas été rédigés en français. La Couronne se pourvoit contre ce jugement.

Question en litige (concernant les droits linguistiques)

« Le juge de première instance a-t-il erré en droit en concluant qu’un certificat d’analyse et un avis de l’intention de produire ce certificat devaient être délivrés en français et en anglais à l’intimé afin de constituer des éléments de preuve admissibles contre lui ? »

 

Décision

Dans une courte décision, la Cour d’appel de la Nouvelle-Écosse statue qu’un avis d’intention de produire un certificat n’est pas visé par l’article 3 de la Loi sur les langues officielles, car il s’agit d’un avis s’adressant à un accusé, et non au public en général. De plus, la Cour est d’avis que l’article 3 de la Loi sur les langues officielles n’est pas applicable aux certificats d’analyse, car la délivrance de ces certificats est un service et ne peut donc pas être « promulguée », comme le veut le libellé de l’article 3 de la Loi sur les langues officielles. La Cour renverse donc le verdict d’acquittement prononcé par le juge de première instance et renvoie le dossier à un juge pour la tenue d’un autre procès sur les accusations criminelles portées contre l’intimé.

 

Doucet-Boudreau c. Nouvelle-Écosse (Ministre de l’Éducation), [2003] 3 R.C.S. 3

Présentation de la décision

La décision porte sur l’étendue du pouvoir réparateur des juges consacré par l’article 24 (1) de la Charte canadienne. On s’intéresse ici au contexte d’assimilation rapide en Nouvelle-Écosse et au besoin urgent de répondre à la demande de la minorité linguistique de la province.

Faits

En première instance, le juge reconnaît une violation de l’article 23 de la Charte canadienne, car le gouvernement a tardé dans son obligation de fournir des établissements scolaires d’enseignement francophone pour la minorité linguistique de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Le juge oblige la province à faire tout ce qui est possible afin de respecter l’ordonnance de la cour. Il ajoute même que « […] la cour se déclare compétente pour entendre les comptes rendus des défendeurs sur leur respect de la présente ordonnance ». La province de la Nouvelle-Écosse soutient que cette réparation pourrait s’inscrire en contravention avec le principe établi du functus officio, selon lequel un tribunal se trouve dessaisi une fois le jugement final rendu.

Question en litige  (concernant les droits linguistiques)

« Est-ce que le pouvoir de réparation des juges conféré par l’article 24 (1) de la Charte canadienne, permettait au juge de première instance de se déclarer compétent pour entendre les comptes rendus de la province sur les efforts déployés pour offrir un enseignement à la minorité linguistique ?

La question en litige est de statuer sur l’étendue du pouvoir de réparation des juges conféré par l’article 24 (1) de la Charte canadienne. »

 

Reference re the Final Report of the Electoral Boundraries Commission, 2017 NSCA 10

Présentation de la décision

 

Cette décision porte sur la violation de l’article 3 de la Charte canadienne en ce qui a trait à la notion de « représentation effective ». La Cour d’appel de la Nouvelle-Écosse développe sur la possibilité de racheter une telle atteinte par le biais de l’article premier de la Charte canadienne.

 

Faits

 

En 2012, le gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse a révisé la carte électorale de la province, afin d’abolir les circonscriptions acadiennes de Clare, Argyle et Richmond, puisque ces dernières sont bien moins populeuses que la moyenne des autres comtés. Cette modification fait écho au rapport final de la Commission de délimitation des circonscriptions électorales qui, bien qu’en désaccord avec cette action, dut suivre les demandes du procureur général de la province. Ces circonscriptions avaient été créées suite aux recommandations de la Commission qui voulait encourager une participation active et une meilleure représentation des Acadiens.

 

Question en litige (concernant les droits linguistiques)

 

  1. L’article 1 de la Nova Scotia’s House of Assembly Act qui abolit les circonscriptions acadiennes Clare, Argyle et Richmond à l’intérieur desquelles se trouvent des minorités linguistiques contrevient-il à l’article 3 de la Charte canadienne ?

 

  1. Dans l’optique où la réponse est affirmative à la première question, cette disposition peut-elle être rachetée par l’article 1 de la Charte canadienne ?

 

Décision

 

Afin de respecter l’art. 3 de la Charte canadienne, la Nova Scotia’s House of Assembly Act ne doit pas brimer le droit à une représentation effective, droit qui comprend un certain équilibre parmi les électeurs et une représentation des minorités identitaires, culturelles et linguistiques. L’administration chargée de définir la carte électorale a le devoir de prendre en compte ces facteurs, ce qui a été empêché par le procureur général lors de son intervention dans les affaires de la Commission. L’abolition des trois comtés risque de mettre en péril la protection des droits de ces minorités. Ainsi, cette disposition viole l’article 3 de la Charte canadienne. La mesure ne peut être rachetée par le test de Oakes, car elle ne possède aucun lien rationnel avec l’objectif réel et urgent d’assurer une parité dans le pouvoir de vote entre les comtés et ne constitue pas une atteinte minimale.

Ce contenu a été mis à jour le 1 avril 2017 à 13 h 18 min.